Response to Buzzfeed’s “Questions Christians Have for Other Christians” Video

The video embedded below is a video by BuzzFeed that was posted last Saturday. The premise of the video is that some (what some people may call) “Progressive Christians” ask “Other Christians” some questions in a demeaning way with the intent of correcting them. I’ll let the video speak for itself:

What’s sad is that people who would even call themselves Christians would ask questions like these. Since I definitely do not agree with any of these so-called Christians, I guess I’m part of the group they call “Other Christians”. As such, since these people sincerely (I hope) want answers, I’ll do my best to give the Orthodox Christian world view. Overall, I can’t imagine that this video is supposed to be taken seriously. However, there are people that may look at this and find some sort of point to use against Christianity in it, and that’s why I’m posting this.

Before I start though, I want to say that although some of the questions do seem like sincere issues, others are just purely social questions that have nothing to do with Christianity. It seems that in this day and age, Christianity is supposed to fit in with society as opposed to guiding it. I’ll clarify when I answer the questions below which are highlighted in red.

1. Do you really think He’s [God] freaking out because His name is not on a cup, that you get to hold for ten minutes, while you drink a pumpkin spice latte?

I’m pretty sure that the answer is obvious, but in case it isn’t, and you’re really wondering, you can find your answer here.

2. Why does Christian music always sound like a mixture of like Nickelback, and Third Eye Blind?

Once again, I highly doubt that this is a serious question. I would argue that what this person is describing is not true Christian music. The ancient Christian hymns of old are beautiful acapella (sometimes with cymbals in the Coptic Church) compositions that are designed to move the spirit. Here is an example of one from my church in English (just in time for Christmas).

3. Did your devotions actually happen, if you didn’t post about it on Instagram?

This, I will concede, is an issue, if the intention is harmful. Some people like to share Christ in any way possible. Take a look at the example of Sts. Peter and Paul: 

But Peter and John answered and said to them, “Whether it is right in the sight of God to listen to you more than to God, you judge. For we cannot but speak the things which we have seen and heard.” (Acts 4:19-20 NKJV)

 As long as what is done isn’t to show off your spirituality, but to edify others, than there is no problem. My group of youth have a group text where we share Bible passages and quotes from the early fathers with each other in order to fill each other up. What’s wrong with that? Once again, it depends on the heart of the person posting it, which neither you or I can judge.

4. How come we all love Tim Tebow? I mean I do love him, I just don’t why.

Once again, I highly doubt this is a serious question. We love everyone. We’re Christians it’s what we do. Tim Tebow is a good role model because he’s not afraid to express his faith even when it’s unpopular. I’m not saying he’s a saint, but I’m saying that that’s why Christians support look up to him. What’s wrong with that?

5. Why can’t you just pray? Why does it have to be a prayer, and then like someone in the background being like blow, blow-beow?

I’m honestly not sure what this is referring to so forgive my ignorance on this one. But rest assured that you can just pray. Don’t worry about that. 

6. Yeah how come everyone’s still supporting Donald Trump?

To answer the question: I don’t know. I also have no idea what this has to do with Christianity. Either way, Christians shouldn’t put their hopes in politicians, because there is not one who can do what Christ can. 

7. Why are we so afraid to talk about sex? Sex is good! Have you read Song of Solomon? 

No one ever said sex is bad. But in this sex-crazed society where anything goes, purity is looked down upon as “prude” and “old-fashioned.” Sex is good in the context of a legitimate Christian marriage. In Song of Solomon, the book is talking about the love between HUSBAND and WIFE (notice that they’re married and also a male and female). This is a symbol of God’s pure love for his faithful people and their reciprocal love. The most ancient Christians interpreted this book allegorically to represent Christ’s love for His Bride, the Church. For proper sexual conduct, read 1 Corinthians 5-8. 

8. How come we all love Chick-fil-a?

I don’t (gasp) and I’m a Christian! But once again, it’s a company that stands for its beliefs regardless of what society says. That’s admirable.

9. Why do you think Facebook is an appropriate place to discuss theology? 

I’m not really sure of the issue here, but I guess it’s for the same reason you think BuzzFeed is an appropriate medium for your questions (burn?). My personal Facebook is a representation of my thoughts, beliefs, and feelings. It is about me. If I want to speak about theology, I will and can and have the right to, especially in a country that grants that freedom. Why is it an inappropriate place? 

10. Why, when Paul said that we all have our own individual gifts, that we feel the need to fit into this absolutely perfect mold? That’s impossible. 

I think that you’re referring to Ephesians 4:11-16.  If that’s the case, then I suggest you reread it. And of course it’s impossible to be perfect, but we must do our best to imitate Christ. Even though it may seem impossible, nothing is impossible with Christ. Yes, it’s hard, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t do it. We should always grow and perfect ourselves to be pure images of Him. 

11. Why are we as Christians more known by the things we hate, than by our acts of love?

This is a pretty good question, and one that is not unexpected as Christians. We know that as Christians, the world will hate us just as they hated Christ. In fact, Christ himself was hated because he made known the world’s sin to them. All this is what Christ himself said in John 15:18-25. Of course this should not deter us, because Christ has overcome the world. My question to you is, why are we looking to please the world instead of Christ?

UPDATE: It has been pointed out to me that I may have not answered this question entirely. For that I apologize, and will include an additional answer. 

Above, I mentioned that “Christ himself was hated because he made known the world’s sin to them.” I’ll expand on this answer to answer the question above. The truth of the matter is that Christians stand against sin. We are known by what we believe in. Therefore, in this day and age, when sin is not only commonplace, but the norm, anybody standing against it may be seen as a threat. It’s more comfortable for us to live how we want, rather than taking moral responsibility for what we believe. In other words, being a Christian means I have to live a moral life and to abstain from things that are now commonplace in the world such as: heavy drinking, cussing, fornication, homosexuality, drug use, etc. Increasingly this world is fighting for “gay rights” and “legalization of marijuana.” Additionally, fornication and cussing are so widespread, that it is strange if someone is not doing these things.

All these things that the majority of the world (U.S.) are fighting for or are participating in are WRONG. We, as Christians should not participate but rather expose these things as evil. Good Christians follow this wholeheartedly, so when they do stand up against evil things, people see that and react violently (as in slandering, and verbal attacks) in order to be able to justify their sin. The media sees this controversy and eats it up. An article that says, “Christians support helping the poor” is not as eye-catching as “Christians are against gay marriage.” Therefore, the media plays a huge role.

Ultimately, St. Anthony the Great sums up what I’m trying to say in the following quote: 

“A time is coming when men will go mad, and when they see someone who is not mad, they will attack him, saying, ‘You are mad; you are not like us.’” – St. Anthony the Great, The Sayings of the Desert Fathers

Ladies and gentlemen, we live in the time mentioned by St. Anthony, and we are known by what we hate because we are not like the people who love those things.

12. Why do you think Christianity and science are incompatible? If anything, science makes God look a lot cooler.

Ummm… I don’t think that at all. Christianity answers the why questions of life and science answers the how. This is a long discussion, but I absolutely think they are compatible. Since you like cool things, here is a cool video that shows how compatible they are.

13. Why are you so adamant about exercising your religious freedoms, but then get so offended when people of other faith exercise their religious freedoms?

We shouldn’t be. As St. Paul says, we don’t worry about judging those who are outside. However, we do get offended at people who disgrace our faith. Of course, we shouldn’t attack back like what Peter did, because we know that our Lord can defend himself.

14. Why do you feel like I have to constantly be preaching in order to be a good Christian?

I’ll just leave this here. It’s not for me to decide, it’s for you. I’m not sure as to why you’re so worried about my opinion.

15. Is showing my friends love and grace, not allowed to just speak for itself sometimes?

Sometimes it is, but sometimes it isn’t. There is no one way to do something for every situation. Of course it can speak for itself, but sometimes you have to take other measures. We must pray for wisdom and discernment to know when to do which. 

16. How come there’s a church on every block, but for some reason, we can’t figure out a way to work together?

I don’t know what this is referring to, but the answer has to do something with the fact that humans are not perfect and we make mistakes. Everyone expects the church to be magically perfect and gets upset when people in there are not. That’s like walking into a hospital which is supposed to be a place of healing and seeing sick people and getting angry.

17. Why is there so much racism, sexism, and homophobia in the church? Galatians 3:28 says it’s neither Jew nor Greek, neither slave nor free, nor male nor female, for all are one in Christ Jesus. So done’t that pretty much tell you that not of that stuff matters?

There isn’t. At least not in my church. Our church doctrine and the Bible (like the verse you quoted) tell us to not hate anyone. We stand against sin, not people. 

18. Why, when the main message of the Bible is to love one another, that we choose to do the opposite?

It is because we are weak sinners who fall short of the Glory of God. I thought that was obvious. We fail to live up to our standards, but through Christ, we may overcome our sins.

19. How come when we talk about men having several wives in the Old Testament, we say cultural context? But then when we talk about marriage today, it’s strictly one man, and one woman?

Cultural context is not the right answer. God didn’t allow this. Man did. When Christ came, he set the law straight. Read this passage, especially verse 8. 

2o. Why does having a diverse group of friends make me less Christian?

It doesn’t, but St. Paul does warn against it

21. Why does the church consider LGBT Christians as less than? I don’t remember there being a demographic of people that Jesus saw as less than. 

They’re not considered “less than” whatever that means, but it is important for them to acknowledge their sin and repent of it. The story of the Adulterous Woman is a good example of how to deal with them. Look at verse 11. Christ tells her that she is NOT condemned but ALSO tells her to SIN NO MORE, not to stay how she is. 

22. You know all that grace and forgiveness and love we’ve all received? How come we can’t find a way to extend that to other people?

These unfounded generalities are honestly getting tiring and wearisome, but we do. I don’t even want to go into how many Christian converts, charities, food drives, missions, etc. there are in the world. Just rest assured that we do. 

23. Why do you feel like love the sinner and hate the sin is an okay thing to say? You realize that’s condescending, and still separating them as an other, right?

Wrong. It is an okay thing to say. Christ himself talks about how he hates sin. I don’t think you can (or would dare to) say that Christ hates the people. He hates the sinful doctrine. Put it this way: let’s say your biological sibling is a helpless meth addict. Wouldn’t you hate the fact that he/she is doing drugs? Does that mean you hate your sibling? People who cannot separate an action from the person seem to be the condescending ones. If your mistakes define who you are as a person, than I feel bad for you.

24. Why do you think you can judge my relationship with God, off of a handful of statements?

I don’t. However, Jesus does warn us about individuals to beware of, and that we should judge by their fruits (actions, words, etc.). But that doesn’t mean we judge your relationship with God.

25. You get mad at me for not being able to back-up what I have to say, but you end up taking scripture out of context so many times.

This is a very subjective battle. Suffice it to say that Scripture is not up to private interpretation. So how should we interpret? Based on what was handed down to us by the Holy Apostles. My Church is apostolic, and therefore, is founded in and by the authority of the apostles.

26. What makes you decide what makes me a good Christian? Last I checked everyone’s relationship with God is personal. 

Not entirely. While we do have a personal relationship with God, we must live as a communal body. We have no salvation outside of the Church. Read this for clarification.

So, there you go BuzzFeed. I answered your questions. I hope that others that have had similar thoughts can see that this type of Christianity portrayed by BuzzFeed is highly individualistic and completely off from the true Christianity that Christ established.

Leave a comment