Why I Stopped Listening to Modern Music

 

This may or may not (depending on how well you know me) be a surprise to you, but I DO NOT listen to any sort of popular/modern/Western music whatsoever *gasp*. Yup! That means no Lil’ Wayne, Drake, Taylor Swift, Lady Gaga, Justin Bieber, and even Adele! This may seem as a shock to many, but I have been so much happier since I’ve cut this type of music out of my life.

Before I go into why, let me go on the record and say that I do believe that music itself is beneficial and that there are some modern songs that aren’t so bad. I do believe music has a place in the Christian’s life. However, I think the vast majority of modern music, including the artists I listed above and others of the like, is ultimately detrimental to a person’s psyche, and isn’t worth the minimal benefits that come with it.

I know the argument I’m presenting here is a hard pill to swallow. Believe me when I say that it was for me as well. However, ever since I made the step to get rid of modern music in my life, I’ve never once thought about turning back.

My Personal Experience

As a teenager, I felt that listening to music wasn’t a big deal at all. I used to spend hours on the computer downloading songs and searching for new releases to the point where I had thousands (no exaggeration) of songs on my iPod that I listened to any chance I had: during drives, walks, working out, while in the shower, trying to go to sleep. Literally any chance I had to listen to music, I would, and I know that many of you are/were the same way.

However, as a Christian, there was something that always bothered me. The music I listened to did not match my belief system. Not only that, but I realized later on that it had converted me to a belief system that I didn’t ascribe to and made me a person that I wasn’t. Whether you think so or not, the music you listen to does have an internal, hidden effect on a person. For example, I remember starting out not listening to music that had curse words at all. Eventually, I listened to music that had curse words, but I downloaded the “clean” version which bleeped out the inappropriate words. Later on, I stopped caring about which version of the song I was downloading and not long after that, I started saying those words myself. My priest always had a saying: “Garbage in, garbage out.” Ultimately, what he was saying is that the more bad influence you intake, the more it will come out of your mouth. You can apply 1 Corinthians 15:33 to this: Do not be deceived: “Evil company corrupts good habits.” (NKJV). I found myself doing that. The more I spent time with my music, the more I would develop bad habits. There were lyrics in those songs, that are directly against my faith, but I sang them anyways. I started using the same words as in the songs, and eventually started thinking that way as well.

Why am I saying all of this? Because, unfortunately this is all too common a scenario and I was there. However, the faithful Christian will understand this issue, and will take steps to fix it.

The Problem with Modern Music

Why is modern music so bad? Well, for a number of reasons. The most obvious of which mostly occurs in rap (but even in rock and heavy metal songs). There are horrible and ridiculous lyrics in some songs that are covered under “Free Speech” that I can’t believe people listen to. It isn’t uncommon now to hear a song that is promoting some sort of evil such as drunkenness, hedonism, degradation of women, violence, etc. There are songs that promote lifestyles and behaviors that are not only against Christianity, but against the law itself. I would quote some lyrics, but they are so explicit, that I don’t want to taint this page with that type of language. Suffice it to say that constantly exposing oneself to music with that type of message or language does have a negative effect on a person’s psyche. I’m not saying that listening to a song where someone talks about doing horrible things to an ex-girlfirend (that’s a real song, but I don’t want to link to it) will make you do those things (although it can). What I am saying is that it desensitizes us and, ultimately, dehumanizes us.

It’s not just the explicit language and the content, but it is the mindset itself. Some people think that Taylor Swift is a good person to take relationship advice from or that rappers have some profound political ideas. We tend to worship these people and listen to them when they go outside the scope of music. Why? You would never trust a mechanic for medical advice or ask a dentist how to code an app. So why do we blindly take anything these artists say and apply it to our lives? They’re good at singing, but they are not moral teachers or philosophical guides. Yet, many people treat them as so. They know this too, and they use that to push various agendas such as this famous one. This isn’t even too mention the overly sexual performances that occur on stage, or sometimes, even demonic ones. I don’t think I need to keep going to prove my point.

The point I’m trying to make is that you can’t, in good faith, call yourself a Christian and listen to Lady Gaga’s “Born This Way.” Let us remember the words of 1 Corinthians 10:21 which says: You cannot drink the cup of the Lord and the cup of demons; you cannot partake of the Lord’s table and of the table of demons (NKJV). How can you go to Church and be against the very things that you say when you sing these things?

The Fundamental Difference between Eastern and Western Music

The music I listen to now is Coptic music. Very old ancient music that, when you look into the history of it, blows any sort of modern music out of the water. There is a fundamental difference in the music I listen to: the words. The words in Coptic music are the focus. They praise God and speak of nothing evil.

Other than this, there is a difference in the composition of the music. Since ancient times, especially in the East, music was composed by first having words, then putting them to a well-known tune (the Psalms are a major example of this). Our church does a great job of this, and it’s for a reason. Sometimes, we may feel in church that the words don’t match the melody, but that’s because the Church is trying to teach us a message. The words in the hymns have deep theological meanings. The tune itself also has a meaning. The tune is secondary though. The tune usually sets the mood and the pace, but the words are the content of what we are trying to express. Essentially, the church is telling us that the content takes priority over the melody. What we say is more important than the music itself.

Unfortunately, this type of mentality is absent in modern music. Music now is made with a beat first, then words are fit into it to match the beat. What’s the difference? The focus isn’t on the content of the song, but on whether it’s catchy or not. That’s why so many people listen to songs with horrible messages. It’s because it sounds catchy rather than having some deep meaning. How do I know that? Let’s take a look at the top song on iTunes right now. That song is “Work” by Rihanna. I highly doubt this song is number one because of some profound lyrics considering that the lyrics of the chorus are:

So me put in
Work, work, work, work, work, work
Ner ner ner ner ner ner!
When you a guh ner ner ner ner ner ner!
Before the tables turn turn turn turn turn turn!
(Lyrics taken from here)

It’s not only me that thinks this! Others don’t understand the lyrics either and are questioning the song in general. Yet, this song is number one on iTunes right now. What does this say about modern music? What does this say about its listeners?

I love the deep meaning behind Coptic Music and the purity of its lyrics. Even though it’ll never be on the Billboard 100, nothing modern society will produce can even touch it!

I encourage everyone reading this to try and put that type of music behind you, so that when you praise with God, you can do it with more than just our tongues, but with our lives as well. We will sing to him with “a new song.” As St. Augustine says:

“Strip off your oldness; you know a new song. A new person, a New Covenant, a new song. People stuck in the old life have no business with this new song; only those who are new persons can learn it, renewed by grace and throwing off the old, sharers already in the New Covenant, which is the kingdom of heaven. All our love yearns toward that, and in its longing our love sings a new song. Let us sing this new song not with our tongues but with our lives.” (St. Augustine, Expositions of the Psalms 33.6)

9 thoughts on “Why I Stopped Listening to Modern Music

  1. Alex, I cannot be more proud of you than this!

    1 Corinthians 10:21 is RIGHT ON! This verse is exactly what that church have been trying for year and year to convince the people of. it’s a big disappointment When a person go every Sunday to the liturgy and drink the blood of Christ then towards the end of the same day he/she spend the night with some friends at a bar or a restaurant and drinks.

    You might think that I am shifting away from your topic, but we are both hitting the same nail! Why do people contradict themselves in such ways. The wine we drink in church, which only through the Holy Spirit descending upon it through our fathers the priest’s prayers, become the holy Blood of Christ, CANNOT be drank in any way and anywhere outside the holy alter.

    Similarly, the ears that hear the beautiful tunes of our churches, the saints glorification, and the daily readings of the Holy Scriptures cannot possibly hear these words that you just mentioned. These words are NOTHING, because it means nothing; it’s VOID and it’s EMPTY.

    Only if the world could go back and read the words that came out from the mouth of God, they will never understand what is the true value of words. God’s words are POWERFUL. Look at the Psalms of our father David; you just cannot go wrong with them!

    This is what Google showed me when I asked “What is word?” : “a single distinct meaningful element of speech or writing, used with others (or sometimes alone) to form a sentence and typically shown with a space on either side when written or printed.” and when I asked Google again for “What is song?” I read this “a short poem or other set of words set to music or meant to be sung.” Even Google told me that songs, used to be, short poems! and words supposed to be meaningful. So, I guess it is obvious how of a steep road this world have drove into.

    God bless you brother 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I find when I listen to Christian music then that is what fills my mind, those are the lyrics I sing, hum, think about. The words that come to my lips. The fact they are so often scripture is a marvellous bonus. Conversely, as you say, when I listened regularly to nonchristian music I’d find myself humming and singing things and listen in shock to what I was saying.
    Guard your heart….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The richness in wisdom of the Coptic church is beautiful. Fortunately for us we are able to read and thus don’t have an excuse for not learning theology but for many through out history and even now they did not have this privilege. Because of this, the songs we sing ascribed by the church like tasbaha are rich in theology so even though the person who couldn’t read could learn proper theology. That is something that completely aligns with our beliefs to the point that it strengthens and build it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m new to the church, but I’d like to address this topic. I too have listened to a mixture of secular and sacred music. I still do. I have however cut much of the Satanic Death Metal out of my ears and am beginning to enjoy softer and more soothing sounds. I would encourage those who are Christians to make music that not only has quality but spiritual lyrics as well. Much of the “Praise Music” I used to listen to reminds me too much of the Evangelical culture and beliefs. I absolutely adore Middle Eastern music and Sacred music from Catholic Traditions (Gregorian Chant for one). The beautiful music in our Church services is wonderful too but we need music to keep us going all week. I have considered using recordings of the Coptic liturgy and combining more Middle Eastern melodies electronically (electronic music). I want to consult with my Priest Father Anastasi to get his take on that. I don’t want to take something sacred and turn it into mere entertainment. Thanks for reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a great idea! In my opinion, as long as it is done with care and portrays proper theological messages, I would say go for it! I know Fr. Anastasi personally, and he is an excellent spiritual guide. It is wise to ask him about these things before proceeding, especially since his wisdom far exceeds mine! Thank you for reading and commenting and remember me in your prayers! God Bless!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment